Welcome to our new website!
Dec. 1, 2022

464 Percy Bysshe Shelley - The Mature Years

464 Percy Bysshe Shelley - The Mature Years

Following up on Episode 446 Percy Bysshe Shelley - The Early Years, Jacke takes a look at the final five years of Percy Bysshe Shelley's life, from 1817-1822, as the poet turned away from hands-on political action in favor of attempting to transform the world through his art. Works discussed include the Preface to Frankenstein; "Stanzas Written in Dejection, Near Naples"; "Ozymandias"; "Ode to the West Wind"; "The Cloud"; "To a Skylark"; "Adonais, or an Elegy on the Death of John Keats"; Prometheus Unbound; "Music When Soft Voices Die"; "The Waning Moon" and "Art Thou Pale for Weariness."

Additional listening:


Help support the show at patreon.com/literature or historyofliterature.com/shop. The History of Literature Podcast is a member of Lit Hub Radio and the Podglomerate Network. Learn more at www.thepodglomerate.com/historyofliterature.


Learn more about your ad choices. Visit megaphone.fm/adchoices